Possession of a Controlled Substance

Possession of a Controlled Substance Under California Law

If you are facing a criminal charge under California’s Health and Safety Code Section 11350, you are likely very concerned about the possibility of hefty fines and serving an extended sentence in one of California’s notoriously violent prisons. However, a West Covina criminal lawyer can help you achieve the best possible outcome following your arrest and subsequent charge and you are encouraged to contact a lawyer as soon as possible following your arrest.

Under Section 11350, the State may punish an offender by imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed one year. Fortunately, the law looks favorably upon first-time offenders and your West Covina criminal lawyer will be eager to review your criminal and personal history. If you are an upstanding member of society with not so much as a traffic ticket on your record, chances are you will endure a much less harrowing experience in front of the judge on your trial date. Be honest about your past, however, as you must always be truthful with your attorney as he or she negotiates with prosecutors on your behalf.

This Code section provides an option for an offender to complete community service in lieu or in addition to a fine. First time offenders are subject to a fine up to $1,000. Second and subsequent offenders are subject to fines up to $2,000 and both groups may receive a sentence requiring community service. Not only is community service a preferable punishment to imprisonment, it can also give you the opportunity to give back to your community and provide volunteer services for those less fortunate than yourself. Rest assured, your West Covina criminal lawyer will advocate on your behalf to help you receive a sentence of community service as opposed to incarceration, if at all possible.

Our lawyers are dedicated to helping the criminal defendant pay his or her debt to society in the minimum amount of time and for the least cost possible. If you are facing  a drug possession charge under Health and Safety Code Section 11350, contact us today at: 1-800-351-6860.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *